Promises of Better Days to Come

cloudsDays like today are good for the soul. Last Saturday was bitter cold and we got about 6 inches of snow. This Saturday it was sunny and I wouldn’t be surprised if it hit 70°F today!

I needed it. It’s been a rough winter. Not that the weather was really bad. We’ve actually had a fairly mild winter overall (at least in this part of the country). Still the cold dreary days had more of an effect on me this year. I know so many people who have lost loved ones (people and pets) this winter. Myself included.

12-27_MyHouse_2_Vito

My Vito

I lost my beloved Vito, my cockatiel that I had for 16 years, a week before Christmas. It devastated me. I’m still having trouble adjusting to the absence of his presence. I hadn’t had the desire to do much of anything for almost 2 months since he passed away.

But today was good. Today was warm. A hint and a promise of warm days to come. I went outside and pruned the rose-of-Sharon and the lilac bush and sat by Vito’s grave for a while. It felt good to sit in the sunshine, soaking in all of that warmth. The birds were singing all around me and occasionally, I’d hear their wings flutter near me as they flew to the feeders nearby. The birds will be building nests soon and as soon as the first warm rains come, the peepers will start singing. Eventually, I’ll be ready to get another cockatiel. But today I’ll soak in that sunshine and let it seep into my soul.

2 thoughts on “Promises of Better Days to Come

Questions? Comments? I'd love to hear from you!

