Evening Lullaby

moon

One of my favorite things to do in the summer months is to sit out on the patio in the evening to unwind after a long day. My yard has always been a peaceful sanctuary for me, especially in the evenings. It’s cooler, for one, especially since my patio is on the east side of the house. The hustle and bustle at the feeders starts winding down and the birds start singing their evening songs. I’ll usually hear the hummingbirds buzzing around the sugar feeder to my right a few more times before they too call it a night. Meanwhile, the gray treefrog that’s been camped out in one of my windchime pipes during the day pokes his head out to start singing, his voice sounding hollow and tinny from within the pipe. More frogs in other yards start answering. The crickets, too start their nightly chorus, a nice backdrop to some of the other evening sounds.

The female bluebird has returned to the nest box for the evening. She’s got eggs. At last check, I counted three, but I suspect there is at least one more. Sadly, this is not my original female. The first one was driven away after her mate was tragically killed last week. I’m not certain, but I believe it was a territorial dispute that went horribly wrong. I was quite upset when I found him and carried him up to his final resting place in the woods. Still, life goes on, and while I’m not seeing the first brood of bluebirds that fledged in my yard anymore, I can look forward to seeing a whole new batch of babies in the coming weeks.

The mockingbird is going through his repertoire of songs. I like to see which bird songs that I recognize from his list. A woodpecker drums somewhere in the woods, while a robin chirps his goodnights. Occasionally, I see a bat flying overhead, busily catching insects on the wing. “Eat all the mosquitoes you want, little one! You’re always welcome over my yard!”

The light is starting to wane now and the moon starts to shine a little brighter. My solar lights throughout the yard are starting to come on. Soon it will be too dark to write, but for now, I will sit here and enjoy my evening lullaby, and let the stress of the week just float away.

gray treefrog sitting on my windchimes

gray treefrog sitting on my windchimes

gray treefrog on my siding

gray treefrog on my siding

Solar lights going on by the pond. There are the windchimes that my frog is sitting on.

Solar lights going on by the pond. There’s the windchimes that my frog is sitting on.

Light by the "bird garden".

Light by the “bird garden”.

Somebody was clinging to my patio door! :)

Somebody was clinging to my patio door! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Evening Lullaby

Questions? Comments? I'd love to hear from you!

