What’s Happening in the Yard?

tiger swallowtail on lilac

A tiger swallowtail on my lilac bush.

The weather has been crazy here in Missouri the past two weeks! Last week felt like June with highs in the 80’s. The heat wouldn’t have bothered me, but the air was so thick with pollen, that I was forced to retreat indoors and turn on the air conditioner just so I could breath. This week felt like March. It has been so cold and wet (we’ve had some frost advisories) that I had to turn the furnace back on!  As a result, I didn’t get out in the yard much and had to resort to watching things happen from my patio door.

What have I seen? Well…

The female bluebird has made a new nest in the nest box. I’m not sure if she has eggs yet. I will have to get out there to check. Occasionally, I see her first brood in the trees. The male often stops at my raisin feeder to take some snacks back to his youngsters. He splits his time between watching after them and checking to see if the female is okay.

The gray treefrogs are FINALLY singing near my pond! I was concerned that the harsh winter we had this year had negatively impacted their population. This cold week has quieted them down though and I’m still waiting for the toads to show up.

frog in windchimes2

A gray treefrog sitting on one of the pipes of my windchimes, of all places!

The hummingbirds have been fighting over the sugar feeder. I noticed some webs hanging from one of the female’s feet, so I’ll TRY to see if I can locate her nest. They can be hard to spot though and, so far, I haven’t had any luck finding one.

I saw a pair of yellow-billed cuckoos in the trees a couple of days ago, but my camera wasn’t strong enough to focus in on them. Hopefully they’ll come around again, because there are more tent worms for them to snack on.

A flock of cedar waxwings dropped by yesterday and were hanging out in the back of my yard. Again, they were a little too far for my camera! I’m not sure what they were after though. This was the first time I spotted them in my yard. They looked like they may have been eating something off of the sumac bushes, but I can’t be sure.

I did manage to get to a native plant sale on Saturday where I purchased a few new plants for my yard, and I was able to get them into the ground before all the rain hit.

beebalm

Some bee balm that I bought at the native plant sale.

house finch

I heard something behind me after I took a photo of the bee balm. This house finch was only a couple of feet from me!

It was hard to stay inside though, and I occasionally got outside with the camera to take some photos. I just couldn’t stay out for very long.

rain on leaves

Rain droplets on some leaves.

mushroom

Mushrooms are popping up all over the place!

columbine

My columbine is in full bloom.

caterpillar

A caterpillar.

Everything is growing like crazy and all of the little animals are so busy raising families. Hopefully, my allergies and the weather will ease up so I can work/play out in the yard more in the coming weeks. 🙂


~ This entry was written in response to the Blog Your Block Challenge.

14 thoughts on “What’s Happening in the Yard?

    • Treefrogs have little disks on their toes that act like suction cups, enabling them to climb just about anything. I’ve even had a frog clinging to my glass door kind of like that Garfield doll you used to see in car windows! 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you! Aside from my allergies, I really love spring! There’s just so much going on and after a long hard winter, I think you appreciate it better than other times of the year. 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Blog Your Block, but do not forgt the mice and hedgehogs | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: You can eat broccoli leaves? | Mermaid's tresses

  3. Pingback: Camden Calling | litadoolan

Questions? Comments? I'd love to hear from you!

