The Bluebirds Have Left the Nest!

(Sounds like a code phrase from a spy flick, doesn’t it?) 🙂

I tried to take some photos of the baby bluebirds on Sunday. Sorry for the poor quality. My camera isn’t the best and I didn’t want to get too close to the nest box, because papa bluebird was a little nervous about me.

The male bluebird standing guard while two of his nestlings peek out of the nest box.

The male bluebird standing guard while two of his nestlings peek out of the nest box.

There were four baby bluebirds in the nest box. Here are two of them peeking out as papa bluebird stands on top of the box to keep an eye on me.

Female bluebird feeding the nestlings while the male sits on top of the nest box.

Female bluebird feeding the nestlings while the male sits on top of the nest box.

Mama bluebird dropped by to stuff an insect into somebody’s mouth. She too was eyeing me suspiciously.

It’s a good thing I got these photos, because on Monday those babies left the nest. The parents weren’t feeding them much, and would call to them from the trees in the back of the yard. I missed the first three leave the nest, but I managed to snap a photo of the last baby right before he took his first flight.

The final bluebird nestling working up the courage to take his first flight.

The final bluebird nestling working up the courage to take his first flight.

He made it to the trees, but didn’t land very well and fell to the forest floor. Those babies are pretty resilient though, and he was soon climbing up a fallen tree and calling to his parents. The first brood was a success. Hopefully they will all make it and I’ll have a bunch of bluebirds visiting my yard when the next brood is born! 🙂


~ This post is hosted on Nature Notes.
Check out Nature Notes posts by other bloggers on Rambling Woods!

Nature Notes logo

4 thoughts on “The Bluebirds Have Left the Nest!

  1. It is such a delight when we can see the birds fledge and go on their own for the first time. Our bluebirds are just about to nest and I hope for a successful brood. We have sparrows and robins nesting as well. It is quite the maternity ward here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I started having trouble with house sparrows about a year ago. I had a nice wooden nest box that the bluebirds loved, but the sparrows started evicting them. I did some research and found out that the Gilbertson style nest box (shown in the photo), though not totally sparrow proof, was less desirable to them. It’s made out of 4″ pvc and the bluebirds seem to like it just fine. The only thing is I have to remove the old nest after each brood and the bluebirds don’t roost in it during the winter. I might just fix the old one and put it out during the winter months.

      Like

Questions? Comments? I'd love to hear from you!

